## I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011(FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No.  $\frac{96.3}{(LS)}$ 

Introduced by:

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. A Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr. Sam Mabini, Ph.D. Strice

2011 NAV -2

· PM 県 57 ~

**RELATIVE TO RECOGNIZING AND CONGRATULATING THE UNITED SAMAR ASSOCIATION OF GUAM ON THEIR 21<sup>ST</sup> ANNIVERSARY.** 

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI UNU LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the United Samar Association of Guam was established
in April of 1990; and

5 WHEREAS, the organization was formed by Mr. Albert Baldoza, 6 Mr. Hilbert Hill and Mr. Enrique "Ike" Banigoos in 1990 ; and

7 WHEREAS, the United Samar Association of Guam's mission is to 8 foster a stronger and more active fellowship and camaraderie among its 9 members; to cultivate, develop, encourage, provide support, and promote the 10 economic, educational and social interests and well-being of its members; 11 and to do anything necessary and proper for the accomplishment of any of 12 the objectives set forth in the statement of principles adopted by the 13 members of the association; and

WHEREAS, the United Samar Association of Guam currently has 39
active members; and

16 WHEREAS, *I Liheslaturan* recognizes the outgoing officers of the 17 association for their hard work and dedication to the organization and 18 community; and

WHEREAS, these outgoing officers who have so graciously served 19 are Elpedio "Joe" Casin, President, Ike Banigoos, Vice President, Leonardo 20 "Abay" Aballe Jr., Vice President, Peter Casin, Assistant Secretary, 21 Veronica Valencia, Rachel B. Lagrimas, Assistant Treasurer, Leticia 22 23 Roperos, Auditor, Jack Asildo, Press Relation Officer, Talimar Espina, Sergeant at Arms, Herminigildo Semela, Sergeant at Arms, Jarve M. 24 Lanojan, Sergeant at Arms, and Narda Torres, Lorette Casin, Delia Strutz, 25 Rose Banigoos, and Ted Allan Ala, members of the Board of Directors; and 26

27 WHEREAS, since 2009 the association has made various donations and has completed numerous community service projects to improve the 28 29 quality of life on Guam and abroad such as donating trash containers to the village of Barrigada, making a monetary donation to the victims of Typhoon 30 Ondoy in the Philippines, funding a medical mission for United Samar 31 Association of Guam member, Gloria Aquino, funding a surgical mission in 32 Samar, Philippines and donating other monetary donations to help members 33 34 of the association in their times of need; and

WHEREAS, the United Samar Association of Guam has future plans to make more donations and perform island beautification projects to benefit Guam's society and those of neighboring communities; and therefore, now, be it

RESOLVED, *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan*, does hereby, on behalf of the People of Guam, recognize and congratulate the United Samar Association of Guam on their 21<sup>st</sup> anniversary and extends a sincere thank you for their generous acts and contributions to the community; be it further

2

44 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 45 Chairman of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Secretary of the 46 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 47 thereafter transmitted to; Mr. Elpedio "Joe" Casin, President of the United 48 Samar Organization of Guam; and to the Honorable Edward J. B. Calvo, *I* 49 *Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE \_\_\_\_\_ DAY OF MAY, 2011

## JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D Speaker

RORY RESPICIO Chairman, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary